Technical data

The second cohort of U of I science and technology policy fellows appointed


MOSCOW, Idaho – September 16, 2021 – The Idaho Science and Technology Policy Fellowship (ISTPF) is pleased to announce the selection of its second cohort, Jared Talley, Ph.D. and Samantha Werth, Ph.D. These appointments signal a growing investment in expertise in state science policy.

The ISTPF is a non-partisan program that places scientists, social scientists, and engineers in state agencies to develop and implement solutions that address some of Idaho’s biggest challenges. ISTPF is a partnership between Boise State University, Idaho State University and the University of Idaho. The McClure Center for Public Policy Research at the University of Idaho leads the ISTPF.

“I couldn’t be more pleased with the continued collaboration between Boise State University, Idaho State University and the University of Idaho in support of the Fellowship on Idaho’s science and technology policies, ”said U of I President Scott Green. “The ISTPF is a huge asset to Idaho. It helps our scientists, sociologists and engineers to understand public policies. And it provides our legislators with experts who bring unique scientific training and approaches to support their decision-making. When these forms of expertise work together, our entire state benefits.

The 2021-2022 ISTPF Fellows will bring tremendous talent and expertise to provide Idaho decision makers with well-researched insights and turn technical data into stories that non-experts are able to understand and use.

Jared Talley received a doctorate in philosophy from Michigan State University, where his research focused on collaboration, natural resources, and environmental governance in the American West. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from Boise State University, a bachelor’s degree in philosophy from Boise State University, and an associate’s degree in liberal arts from the College of Western Idaho. Most recently, Talley was a professor of environmental studies at Boise State University. He will spend his fellowship year at the Governor’s Office for Species Conservation and the Idaho STEM Action Center.

Samantha Werth is an expert on the environmental and economic impacts of beef production and food supply chains. She received a PhD and MA in Animal Biology, as well as a BS in Animal Science, all from the University of California, Davis. Until recently, Werth was a graduate researcher at the University of California at Davis. She is the second Fellow of the ISTP Center for Advanced Energy Studies (CAES) of ISTPF and will support energy topics in the Governor’s Office of Energy and Mineral Resources and the Quality Department of the ISTPF. environment of Idaho.

The ISTPF launched its first cohort in August 2020. The first ISTPF fellows, Sarah Hendricks, Ph.D. and Veronika Vazhnik, Ph.D., completed their fellowship year in August 2021.

Hendricks spent his scholarship year in the governor’s office for species conservation. In this role, she has carried out a variety of activities, including reporting on state conservation assessments and strategies for the preservation of rare and declining species in Idaho.

Vazhnik was an ISTP CAES Fellow in the Office of the Governor of Energy and Mineral Resources. During her fellowship, Vazhnik focused on leading an update to Idaho’s Energy Insurance Plan, a plan to help Idaho prepare for and prevent crises related to disruptions in the world. energy system.

John Chatburn, Administrator of the Governor’s Office of Energy and Mineral Resources, spoke positively about his experience with ISTPF. “Having a research scientist’s point of view at your fingertips offers enormous benefits for policy formulation and technical analysis. The opportunity to work with a colleague allowed our office to complete projects that would have been difficult for our staff to complete otherwise.

ISTPF raised $ 500,000 to launch and support the program. Financial contributors include Boise State University, California Council on Science and Technology, CAES, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Idaho National Laboratory on behalf of Battelle Energy Alliance, Idaho State University, Idaho STEM Action Center, Micron Foundation , POWER Engineers, Simons Foundation, University of Idaho and individual donors.

Media contact

Katherine himes
Director, James A. and Louise McClure Center for Public Policy Research
University of Idaho
[email protected]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.