Financial assistance

Wood Math Education Scholarship Created with Family Endowment Donation

Wood Math Education Scholarship Created with Family Endowment Donation


JONESBORO — The family of the late Norma Moore Wood of Gainesville, Florida has established a scholarship at Arkansas State University to benefit future teachers of mathematics.

Jack Wood, her husband and family establish the scholarship program in honor of his wife’s dedication and success in the classroom, from which she retired in 2000.

They provided an endowment donation of $47,000, plus a $3,000 freshman award scholarship as the endowment grows in value, for a total donation of $50,000.

The family was very clear about the reason for the gift, according to Brenda Schildberg, the couple’s daughter.

“My mom was a long-time math teacher at Eastside High School in Gainesville,” Schildberg explained. “She understood the challenges of teaching and our family wanted to be able to bless future high school math students with a scholarship.”

She said her mother, from Marianna, was a proud A-State graduate and spoke very highly of her college experience, so they knew she would have been supportive of their intention to help others succeed and to get a degree.

Ms. Wood earned a Bachelor of Science in Education in Mathematics Education at A-State, where she was also named to Who’s Who among American college and university students.

“Unfortunately teaching is not a very well paid profession and there is such a critical need for math teachers,” she added, “so we wanted to carry on the legacy of the love of my mother for teaching mathematics by offering a scholarship.”

Applicants for the Norma Moore Wood Math Education Scholarship must be full-time upper-level students with a minimum 3.25 GPA seeking a Bachelor of Science in Education in Mathematics and must demonstrate that they need a financial aid. The prize may be renewed, provided that the award criteria are maintained.

The Wood Scholarship recipient will be selected by the College of Science and Mathematics Scholarship Committee. Additional information about this and other college scholarship programs is available by contacting the Acting Dean, Dr. Jennifer Bouldin, [email protected]